Month: November 2012

  • ~First of Christmas~

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

      

    We are as decorated as we are going to be this year. I love having a candle in each window the best.

    I love having timers on them even more, though, so I don’t have to unplug a zillion things at 11:00 at night. 

     

    Amy Grant’s “I Need a Silent Night” has been my motto this year.

    I’ve said “no” to multiple things because I refuse to run crazy this Christmas……or any Christmas if I can help it.

    I suppose it’s just the nature of having a family of six.

    If I do the math, I simply can’t physically be and do everything I would need to be and do if I said yes to it all. 

    Mom guilt kicked in the other day just for a second, then I came back to my senses. 

    It’s good for kids to learn that the world doesn’t revolve around them and that there are other people to consider. 

    Even still, we have three wonderful parties to go to, one ballerina to watch, a school musical to attend, a Christmas parade,

    one gymnastics meet, team pictures, and two more weeks of regular school and activities. 

    Yes. That’s definitely enough.  

     

     

    Got to take a few pictures of Abby this weekend. 

       

     

    I sincerely hope you are having a wonderful Christmas season.

    I love the fact that what I celebrate is not limited to one square on the calendar. 

    It takes off the pressure, you know?

    Every day is a blessing; a gift.

    I am redeemed because of the gift of Jesus Christ.

     

    ~stacey

     

  • ~In Memory of Ma~

    What is a legacy?  

    I mean a real legacy. 

    Does it have to be something big? 

    Can only famous people leave legacies? 

    Is that something reserved for philanthropists who leave millions of dollars to support a cause? 

     


    legacy

    noun

    Definition: 1. money or property left through a will; 2. something handed down from one person or generation to another

    Synonyms: grant, bequest, gift, bestowal, heritage, inheritance

     

    I can’t speak for anyone other than myself but for me, my grandmother left a legacy last night when she passed away. 

    She isn’t leaving me a monetary gift, I’m not getting a piece of property, or expensive jewelry. 

    The legacy she is leaving me is worth far more than anything I can hold in my hand.

    She passed down to me a testimony of good character.

    She showed me what it looks like to stand during times of adversity. 

    She walked through The Great Depression, the loss of a family farm, and the death of her young daughter.

    From her, I learned how to be okay with the things you can’t control. 

     

    Dear Ma,

    I miss you already. I’ve been missing you about a year though, really.

    I am blessed to have lived down the lane from you from 1974 to 1997. 

    Going to Harvey’s to get chicken that was on sale will always be one of

    my very favorite memories. That day, we laughed so much we cried.

    Thank you for all those nights I got to spend with you listening to stories

    from your childhood. When you dozed off and started to snore, I 

    I remember nudging you, “Ma! Wake up. You didn’t finish the story!” 

    Thanks for showing me how to make biscuits and for keeping me when

    I didn’t want to go to a conference with Mama and Daddy. 

    Thanks for almost always making lunch……I think I’ll make some 

    salmon croquettes soon…..just because. 

    Thank you for your sweet spirit, your fiery side, and for valuing your family.

    I love you and can’t wait to see you again. 

     

    ~In Loving Memory~

    Mary Bass Fitzgerald Taylor

    November 8, 1909~November 18, 2012

     

     


     

    ~stacey

     
     

     
  • ~The Night Before November 1~

    It was such a cozy night. 

    We ate. We walked. The kids got some candy. We gave away A LOT of candy. (I asked the kids to go through their stash and recycle what they didn’t like )

    Abby and Cameron came over and ate some chili after we turned off the front porch light. (Would love to see how late kids would actually ring the doorbell if the light was left on)

    And since when is it okay for 18 year olds to trick-or-treat? I can see 14…..15….maybe.  But 18?! That’s almost college. Time to grow up, I think. Not to mention they are HUGE and scare me a little! winky

    That being said, there is NO shame in a parent “helping” their child pick out the “best” candy, only to eat it later.

    “But Daddy, I don’t like peanuts and dark chocolate.”

    “Oh yeah, honey, it’s GOOD! Say thank you to the nice lady and let’s go!” laughing

     

      

    ~McKenna, the American Girl gymnast~

     

      

    This girl was F.U.N. this year. She put her “buttably” costume on and held on to that wand like it was her most prized possession.

    She was an unhappy little thing when she learned she could not sleep in the whole get-up. 

     

      

    Rapunzel. She loved wearing my jewelry and make up.

     

      

    And Ninja dude. He LOVED it. 

     

      

     

    Like I said….cozy night. Think I’ll remember this one.

     

     

     

    In a matter of minutes, it will be November 1. Where October went, I have no idea. I should really get my summer clothes put away, though. ~It’s COLD~

    I’m trying to resist Christmas decorating. Growing up, it was completely unheard of to even think about Christmas trees or music until the day after Thanksgiving.

    I never complained about that….it was just the way we did it.  I loved Thanksgiving, and still do. I just think four weeks is not enough time for candles in the windows, Nat King Cole serenading me, or getting through all my favorite Christmas movies.  So we’ll see how long I can hold out. Not ready just yet, but getting close. 

     

    This is the kind of day I plan to have tomorrow….

      

     

     

    ~stacey