Month: December 2012

  • ~Xmas2012~

     

    Did you know that the “X” means Christ in Greek? All these years, I’ve been annoyed by this X.

    ~Not anymore.~

    I love the fact that there’s really no way to take Christ out of the equation.

     

    Is it strange that Christmas afternoon may just be my favorite?

    Maybe it’s because the work is done, the kitchen is clean, there’s enough food in the fridge for days, gifts are opened, kids are occupied by their new things, or I’m just relieved nothing traumatic happened. Or maybe it’s the first time I catch my breath after the marathon that is the two weeks leading up to the Christmas holiday in general.

    Whatever the reason, here I sit, December 26, quite content. It’s cloudy, windy, and very cold out. Kids are playing, Christmas music is on, and will be as long as channel 801 plays it.  

    The only thing lacking is Brad. He’s been on call all week and says he’ll be gone til 10 or so tonight operating. 

    ~Christmas Eve~

     

      

    ~Making Cheese Apples…..which is the best thing you will ever put in your mouth.~

    This little “ballerina”, as Emma calls it, has been the thing she has worn since she got it yesterday morning.

    Forced her to take it off to go to bed, only to have her find it, and insist on putting it back on first thing when she woke up. 

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Already hit the treadmill this morning. I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions because I figure there’s no time like the present.

    I’m stepping up my work out routine. 

     

    Only about 10 weeks til Daylight Savings Time!   …excited about THAT! 

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from our family to yours.

    …..one of these years, I’m planning a killer New Year’s Eve party. Don’t have the energy for it at the moment, but I can see it. It will be a happening with lights, great food, live music maybe, and pretty dresses. 

    For now, I’ll happily settle for the entertainment that comes from watching my kids TRY their darndest to stay awake til midnight to see the ball drop.

    Cozy is just as good as fancy. Better, even. 

    If you haven’t watched, “Holiday Inn” yet, you really should. 

    Hope your night is a good one!

     

     ~stacey

     

     

  • ~Redeemed~

    Survived. It was a crazy two weeks.

    A marathon of teaching school, going to parties, practices, performances, and lessons. Pictures, errands, wrapping, shopping, cleaning, and prepping for and enduring a home inspection. 

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    This morning was the kids Christmas musical at school. As the sweet, innocent first graders filed in and I caught my Avery’s eye, she smiled her toothless smile, waved, and I couldn’t hold back the tears. 

    My heart is still heavy for the Mamas and Daddies in Connecticut. I am well aware that I have not been given the grace to carry their suffering, so I guard my thoughts, and do my best to choose not to dwell on that day. Instead, I pray for unexplainable grace to rest on their homes.

    I pray for peace that passes all understanding.

    I pray for smiles to return sooner rather than later.

    I pray for mercy and comfort. 

    I pray for rest and signs of God’s presence in their lives even in this impossible circumstance. 

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

     


    School is officially out for nearly three weeks.

    That is long enough to actually catch my breath.

    It’s long enough to have some do nothing days and some fun days. 

    I have my plans but more than ever, I’m acutely aware that I’ve only been given today. 

    I’ll always make plans, but I won’t waste today hoping for or fretting over tomorrow.

     

    In the wise words of my favorite pastor ever, Tom Hall,

    “Blessings and Joy! You live in a redeemed world.”

     

     

    ~stacey

     

     

  • ~Tired~

    These are the days. 

    The ones when I’m so tired my body aches.

    Reminds me of  being 11 again. I used to get growing pains so bad in my legs and it was the worst when I was tired.

    Not much has changed in how I react to tired in the last 20+ years. 

    Tired is tired and for me, tired means shut down.  Doesn’t  matter where I am, who I’m with, or in what environment I find myself.

    I just need a bed. 

    This is where I find myseof tonight. So incredibly thankful to have a wonderful place to go when I need rest.

    Reese and Ave are in one bed upstairs, Jake is on the couch, and Miss Prisspot is snuggled in between Brad and I. 

    Just changed her diaper because,” My hiney burns. I need hiney cream.” (AKA Desitin diaper rash cream)

    Then came my comic relief for the night when she giggled and said,” I love Hiney cream….it smells dood!”

    So from one tired Mama, to I’m sure, another, “Sleep tight. Things always look  a little better after a good nights rest.”