May 7, 2013

  • ~blah and ballet~ (totally unrelated topics)

    Yes, I’m still moving blog sites, but I’m a snail…..still copying and pasting. 

              ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    It’s rained for for three days straight. No lie. Three days.

    I consider myself to be a girl who likes the rain but I’m in desperate need of sunshine. Hoping today is the day. 

    Don’t think I’d make it in Alaska.

     

    All I can think about right now are the little positive sayings my Dad said so much while we were growing up, they actually made their way into my hard head.

    “Attitude determines altitude”

    “Have an attitude of gratitude”

    “Do you need a check up from the neck up?”

    “You need an ‘A.I.K.’” (Attitude Improvement Kit) -we LOVED hearing that one.

    “I feel so good, I could grab a tree and shake the world!”

    “I’ve been spit on, talked about, and laughed at, but never insulted.”

     

    Thanks to my parents, I have come to understand, that most times, my feelings are a direct result of my thoughts. 

    *I firmly believe this is not ALWAYS true. Clinical depression is a real issue and may need intervention beyond what you can do on your own.* 

    I’m referring to blah. gross. blue. hormonally yuck. tired. just need a short break kind of thing.

    One of the best things I’ve read in a long time about beating the “doldrums” is right HERE

    If you are a woman, mom or not, and if you ever just get emotionally gross, you must read it. It’s my current favorite. She so eloquently says what I know to be true. Read it! 

     

    But as for something that is NOT blah, my little, well not so little, growing up way too fast, Avery, getting ready for recital. I could write lots about what goes through my mind when I see her on stage, but I won’t. …..well maybe I will a little.

    She’s just a girl in a tutu to most people. But because she’s my girl, and I know her better than anyone, and because I think way too much, I see the beautiful complexity of who she is, and hopefully who she will become, and I marvel at her in front of a bunch of strangers smiling, doing exactly what she is told to do, with a smile on her face, without a stomach ache. 

    It’s pretty remarkable, actually.

     

      

     

     

    ~stacey

     

Comments (4)

  • Love that quote at the end.

  • Oh and my high school band motto, that our director said all.the.time was this:
    attitude is everything

    We had shirts with that on it. It’s true. What you think about things can determine how you react to them.

  • your dad had some great quotes~ i should try them out on my kiddos!
    beautiful little dancer. she’s just exquisite, and growing up so much.

    i had read that blog from jh and loved it too.
    she cracks me up. “he’s just a dude with a stable mind and can’t be trusted.” haha. exactly. ;) )

    to make you feel better about moving like a snail on your new blog.. i’ve pretty much become a dead snail when it comes to getting anything done on mine!!

    hope those clouds break soon – both outside and in your heart – happy sunny days are just ahead. i know it!! :) )

    love ya.

  • Your little girl looks ethereal and beautiful.I needed those positive quotes! Have an attitude of gratitude is one I usually can live with, but gosh, Yesterday was NOT my happy day. When I wake up tomorrow morning, I need to remember to say thank you to God for everything he’s going to allow me to experience in my life. You are precious!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *