May 15, 2013

  • ~Baked Beans On Your Burger~

    So obviously, I need to start a group entitled, “Can’t Leave Xanga Anonymous”. 

    It’s not that I can’t stand to leave, but more I can’t find the time to finish copying and pasting all my old posts. 

    Maybe this will be my last xanga post. Yes, I think so. Maybe. Don’t hold me to that.

     

    Anyway…..moving along…..

    WE ARE FINISHED WITH SCHOOL FOR THE YEAR!!

    I have never been more thrilled for summer break.

     

    My parents spent the weekend with us. It was Mother’s Day and also unofficially, Get A LOT Done Day. 

    Mom and Dad have this wonderful helping ability. They drill holes, hang things, move things,put out sod, fix the gardenia fungus, and fold clothes faster than anyone I know. 

    Let’s face it. I’m b.u.s.y.    

    …..and not that everyone else isn’t busy but I am wired in such a way that I require shut down time. If it’s not done by 8:00 at night, it’s most likely not going to get done. I have a point where I crash and say, “to he!! with it……that’ll have to wait”.

    So. Since our move, the kids rooms have yet to be totally put together and because I have Decorating ADHD, completing a room is hard to do.

    Also, I’m not truly decorating just yet…..I’m taking what we have and making things as pretty as they can be without purchasing a lot.

    I’m just as, or maybe more, irritated by things not being functional as I am them not being attractive. 

    I believe in being reasonable with how much I spend on things. I realize that “reasonable” is very subjective but the thought that is most prevalent in my head when I consider things I buy for my house is,

    “It’s all going to burn. It’s not going to last. This STUFF is not eternal. Have what you want as much as you can afford and as much as is reasonable, but more than that, WANT WHAT YOU HAVE.” 

    So, my sweet parents helped me get Jake’s room up and running. It is just what a boy’s room ought to be. (in my humble, but most always right opinion) LOL…..kidding!! 

    Filled with things he likes.  

    A bed and table that belonged to his Daddy when he was a boy,

    a dresser that his parents have used since the day they were married (with no less than four coats of paint on it),

    Craigslist lockers that actually lock so he can think he can keep his cool, secret stuff away from nosy sisters,

    a bulletin board for his WAR EAGLE paraphernalia,

    military planes and “I Want You” Uncle Sam tin posters on the wall, because he thinks soldiers are tough,

    and his tacky, but awesome, remote control cars right on top of his dresser so he can grab them in a hurry, and because he would say, “They look nice there!”. 

     

     

    AND! Mother’s Day, my kids were determined to serve us adults dinner.

    I mean, they figured out the leftovers and made menus, put on aprons, and everything. Normally, I would talk them out of this kind of thing, but they were not to be put off.

    So, we sat down at the table on the back porch and let them have at it. It felt a little like “Martinelli’s” on the Parent Trap.

    Funniest part was Brad’s reaction to the realization that he had cold baked beans on his hamburger. When he asked for a “side of baked beans”, he did not know that sides came ON or IN the entree’. …..guess maybe that’s what they do at really great restaurants.

     

    ~stacey

Comments (3)

  • Awww…. your kids serving you a meal. How sweet! I am sure the trampoline performance was spectacular. Your son’s room sounds great. I find so many ideas in Pinterest… ideas I will never, ever do. I am with you about REASONABLE! Especially on a missionary’s budget. We frequent second hand shops, and I love to see what I can find to “pretty things up” on our budget. I also like to make things useful again. I make rag rugs a lot. I have made my granddaughters many things from old, vintage tablecloths and fabric ends. I look for old hankies and doiles to do things with, too. Are you truly leaving Xanga? I would be sorry to see you go!

  • jakes room looks great. i need to revamp bens~ the lockers work good for a dresser, eh? ben has a few too. sweet kiddos making your mother’s day lunch. yay for another year behind you and heLlO sweet summer!! :) )

  • and up until yesterday when i heard xanga was shutting down i would have joined your, “Can’t Leave Xanga Anonymous” group. this way though i feel less guilty or obligated. but it is sad~

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *