January 25, 2012

  • ~Don’t Even Bother Reading This~

    I think there should be a rule. If you exercise your right to collect and use more than 20 coupons in a single shopping trip, you should be entitled to your very own check out aisle. 

    It could be right there beside the “10 items or fewer” aisle.

    “20+ coupons” aisle. Wouldn’t that be nice?

    There could be a handy little clerk who specializes in coupon rules and limits. He or she would be prepared to spend all the time in the world telling you why you can’t purchase 27 cans of cat food because the coupon clearly states a limit of 26.

    AND! The best part! I would NEVER be in that line.

    So I would be able to get through my own “Spastic mothers with multiple children who just want to get the heck outta’ here as soon as possible” line in a reasonable amount of time! 

    I think that would make the world a better place. Minimalists have their line, extreme couponers have their line, and crazy but sweet Mamas have their line!  You can’t argue with that, right?!

    Ah-hem.

    Very sorry about that.

    I love couponers. Really. I wish I were that thrifty and that organized. I use a coupon here and there. Honestly. I just have really bad luck with the 2% of couponers who are giving the rest of you responsible, reasonable couponers a bad name. Love you all……don’t mean to offend. kiss

     

    Alright! Back to finish school. Today has been a bear. Nothing major.

    Just one of those days, I wish I could open my kids’ heads to take a quick peek just to make sure there actually IS a brain in there. Wow. 

    My little kids are precious. We discussed yesterday, “Turning over a new leaf.” THAT was a funny conversation, let me tell you.

    But that’s exactly what we’re doing. School is hereby to be less stress, and more fun. They have to do the work, but I’m not going to get my panties in a wad if they forget a paper or forget that you have to find a common denominator BEFORE you borrow from a fraction, BEFORE you subtract, BEFORE you change the improper fraction, BEFORE you can reduce and get your final answer!!

    I mean REALLY! My own brain is sweating. Bless his little 10 year old heart!!

    Lighten up. It’ll all be okay.

    This was my comforting thought the other day.

    Ready for it?

    If I knew I had only one year left to live, I am doing exactly what I would want to be doing. I may not be able to say that every year, but right now I can and THAT, my friend, is a cool thought. 

    Have a marvelous Wednesday!

     

     

     

    ~stacey

Comments (10)

  • oh man! i’m so with you in that “get me the heck out of here mama lane!”
    i’m glad i’m not the only bitter shopper.haha. ;)
    anymore i come out of the grocery store just so grumpy -
    it used to be such a fun little outing {like back when i was first married & still playing house}
    now. i’m like.. “honey? you wanna go to the store for me??” ;)

    and school. bleh! that’s right up there w/ grocery shopping for me {don’t i sound cranky today?} ;)
    if emma ever gets the i and e sound right it’ll be a miracle…
    though i’m pretty sure on her college application test she’ll be texting me on her cell to ask which sound is which!!!!! :0

    yes. don’t sweat the small stuff and get my panties in a wad is what i’m trying to embrace too.
    with school AND those extreme couponers!!

    happy wednesday back! xo

  • Love the way your brain works! The “extreme couponers” lane is brilliant and I’m not just saying that. You crack me up!

    It’s hard to keep in mind the big picture when I’m so bogged down in the tedious day-to-day decisions and tasks but it is so important to always keep in mind what really matters. Thanks for the reminder :)

  • Thanks for saying what we are all thinking.  Ha!  I’m trying SO hard today (knowing that it’s only by God’s grace) to take a deep breath and SMILE.  It’s wearing me out!    Happy Wednesday!  And just wait, Amber – pretty soon you’ll have someone to SEND to the store!  Woohoo!

  • Ha! This made me LOL.  I’ve so been there. I long to have the paitence to do all the couponing and all that and I dont. I admire it but I don’t. I think they are brilliant enough to validate retailers investing in their own checkout lines!

  • Came here recommended from Amber. And loved your post. :) I’m a basic couponer, which means every once in a while I’ll pull out a coupon or two. :) But I know ExAcTlY what you mean about the extremists – those who make life a bit more difficult for everyone else, whether by long checkout lines or by wiping out store shelves at CVS… But I really liked this, all this, and especially the part about “if I only had one year to live…” That is a pretty amazing thing to realize, the delight in ones own life, despite all the things that aren’t perfect.

  • Hehe, I’m with you in that line in the grocery store. And I’m only using like the two coupons I found that apply to me. ;D

    Your kiddos are adorable!

  • …..think i need to have a chat with you about learning not to get “the panties in a wad” over school stuff. it sure would make life happier. Will they still turn out to be normal people? :)       Everytime I think maybe just maybe we have this homeschool deal figured out, i decide we really really don’t!

  • The whole school thing…………waaaaaaaaa, it’s a real feat to keep the panties out of a wad! Good luck with it, and hope you have all the fun in the world getting those improper fractions all prim and proper.

  • Lol. I vote that there also be a check writing aisle next to the coupon one! I mean it’s not a huge hassle, but when you’re, ya know, tryin to get out ASAP, those checks take an eternity!

    I really, REALLY like what you said about viewing your life like you’ve only got a year left. I have definitely been trying that a lot lately and it really changes your perspective. Some things are just not even worth the trouble! : )

  • totally get ya on the couponer thing! The other thing that really gets to me is when it takes the manager ages to bring more change to the cashier.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *