October 25, 2010

  • Dear Avery


    Dear Avery,

    How did you get to be five years old? You’ve grown up more in the last year than I ever thought you would.
    You have graciously given up your place as the baby of the family to little Emma and  have taken on the role of big sister beautifully. In the eight months she has been a part of us, you have never once complained about the time she requires of me. You willingly help in any way I ask.

    You are also little sister and have learned how to stand your ground quite well. I remember something you said earlier this year that sums up a big part of your personality. I was giving the three of you some instructions about cleaning up the play room and said that Jake was in charge because he was the oldest. You, obviously frustrated, put your little hands on your hips and emphatically said,
     ”When I get older, I am going to be in charge of EVERYTHING!”

    You can be so very serious with grown up worries. Like whether or not Daddy knows where your school is because you were “tired of telling him how to get there”.
    (and for the record, darlin, yes, Daddy knows how to get to your school thanks to your giving such good directions the first time he took you.)

    The things you say make me laugh just about every day. One of the sweetest, funniest things you said recently that I want never to forget is,
    “Mom, will I look ravishing in this?”
    “Yes, you will.” I replied trying hard not to laugh.
    “Is that a good thing or a bad thing? What does ravishing mean? Does it mean beautiful?”
    “You’re exactly right.” I told you.

    ravishing [ˈrævɪʃɪŋ]

    adj
    delightful; lovely; entrancing
    ravishingly  adv



    You are just that. Delightful.
                                                     Lovely.
                                                               Entrancing.

    ~stacey

Comments (10)

  • You do know that your children could be little models they are so gorgeous!!! She is beautiful!!!

    For some reason, I miss when you post!  I came on her earlier to look back at the pictures of your dark doors….I’m painting and I am trying to decide what to do, and I wanted to see yours one more time!  When I got to your site, I see I have missed a lot! I’m subscribed to you, so I wonder why I don’t get your updates?!?!
    I really like your blog, and your pictures are wonderful. There are some people that have such a talent for photography, and you are one of them!  Really!
    You need to post more!!! =)

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - 

    What kind things for you to say! I feel like I’ve added so many subscriptions that I sometimes miss the ones I really love reading. (yours, for example) I need to create a sub list somehow….hmmm…will have to figure that out.
    I want to see pictures when you get your doors done. I wonder now how we ever had the energy or determination to complete that project! :-o If you could see my house at this very moment, like the set up ironing board next to my rocking chair FULL of clothes begging to be ironed, or my counter tops with dishes that need to be loaded, OR MY SUITCASES FROM VACATION STILL NOT FULLY UNPACKED, you would understand why your comment is so encouraging tonight. It’s been one of those days….good but one that takes every single thing out of me leaving my exhausted, a little emotional, still with a to do list a mile long. so thank you very much.

  • So Avery is having a birthday?! Happy Birthday! She was born the same year as my little Jacob then.
    For some reason it just makes me smile, to think of of us, not having yet met, doing babies and preschoolers at the same time!

    I can’t see all of your pictures for some reason {xanga has been getting on my nerves that way} but the ones that I can
    are d.a.r.l.i.n.g. Seriously ravishing! :) love that little fiesty girl of yours…and love you too!

  • ha! guess that we were writing at the same time!
    ryc; i am totally pooped. completely. all without suitcases and a busy baby! <3

  • She is certainly ravishing! Happy Birthday to your beautiful Avery. :)

  • Somehow I had missed that you have an “Avery”.
    Our second daughter’s middle nae is Avery….
    just sayin. 

    Your little gal certainly is beautiful!
    Sweet….
    five year old….
    little princess!
    RaVisHiNg, I might add!….and yeah, that’s a good thing!

  • She is a beautiful little girl. I love your descriptions of conversations with her!

  • Happy Birthday Avery! You must feel so blessed, such kind words about her. She is beautiful, absolutely precious.

  • Happy Birthday to your sweet, beautiful,fun Avery!!

  • hapPy biRthdAy to your precious Avery!!!

    as others have said she IS so gorgeous.. but i love the sweetness you see in her as well. you know how w/ some people you can just SEE that quality! and it makes the beauty even more RAVISHING!! kinda like her mama i think. :)

    the shots of her are great – i especially like the first one. such pretty light.

    have missed you around here girl.. i always notice when you’re not around. ;) love ya

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *