October 27, 2011

  • ~Broke Tooth Fairy~

    I’m not a tooth puller. Hard to believe, I know. As the mother of four, you would think I would have been forced to pull at least one tooth by now, right?

    The idea of causing physical discomfort to another person makes me nauseous. Literally.

    ANYWAY…..the tooth thing. Night before last, my number was up. Reese had been moaning and groaning all evening about this tooth that was about to fall out. I kept telling her to pull it like she has before, but she would have nothing of it. I finally got fed up with it and the teeniest bit frustrated said,

    “Reese! Come here!” 

    Reese trudges slowly down the stairs….still moaning. “Mama, please don’t pull it, it’ll hurt! Are you going to pull it? I don’t want you to pull it. Are you going to pull it?” 

    “Reese! I don’t pull teeth! I can’t stand it. I’m just going to feel it to see if it’s really ready. We’ll let Daddy pull it! Just come here!”

    Put my paper towel covered fingers around the tooth to honestly, just give it a wiggle, and out it came. stunned

    I don’t know who was more surprised. 

    I think little girls in this house have lost a combined three teeth in the last week or two.

    Poor tooth fairy is getting low on cash….or so I hear. winky

     

    this was three years ago

    time flies

    and i’m not sure how i feel about that

     

     

    ~stacey

Comments (7)

  • the other day cleaning emma’s room i came across a tooth of hers stuck behind something on her dresser!! just totally forgot about it. and i guess.. she did too. i debated on telling her i found it~ but yeah. like you said. the tooth fairy was broke, or wanted to use the money elsewhere i think. ;) so…

    i hate when my kids have loose teeth though. it just makes mine hurt! :) i’m one of THOSE kind of people – i FEEL your pain. ;)

    and sweet little toothless girl shot at the end. love it~

  • She is such a cutie!!!  I am one of those weird people who actually like pulling teeth- and most of my kids HATE to have their teeth pulled until they are hanging by a thread!

  • yep. pulling teeth kind of gives me the heebie jeebies. thankful i’ve escaped that job thus far.
    and tooth fairy’s been kinda broke ’round here the last while too. course, my son would just as soon hang onto his teeth til kingdom come anyhow… =)
    happy weekend to you!

  • she is just TOO cute Love that little gap in her mouth. just talking about pulling teeth bring back vivid memories of how a loose tooth felt—shivers!

  • I had a similar experience with Miss Mae awhile ago. I didn’t know when I felt it – it would just come out. Nothing like a gap toothed smile!!

  • our son lost a tooth at a friends…really lost it, so grandpa helped him write a note to the tooth fairy about where to find it. Happy childhood memories!

    Love your header and the little gap toothed smile at the end! Sigh, time does go fast.

  • i’m a puller. :)

    it’s not about enjoying anyone in pain…i don’t. ‘specially not my kids. but i loved getting that loose tooth OUT when i was little. and i guess i just still want that same good thing for others too! such a sweet post about our/their milestones stacey. and that gap-toothed smile is just adorable.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *