Month: August 2012

  • ~Reese~

    Lightening fast post…..have lots to do.

     

    This spunky little girl who, seems only like yesterday, looked like this:

     

        

     

     

    But now looks like this:

    is such a sweet helper.

    she can’t be still.

    she spends more time upside down than she does right side up.

    last week she kicked a softball size hole in the wall. I said, “let’s go swim”. She got excited and karate chopped the wall.

    in her life time, she’s been the kid who:

    chipped her tooth

    swallowed a penny

    had a minor concussion

    scales the door jams

    goes up the stairs on the outside of the bannister

    climbs trees

    and as I’ve already stated, kicks walls out of sheer joy.

     

    This morning, on her own, she got Emma up, and changed a poopy diaper AND put diaper rash cream on her. (and no, I never ask her to do this…..she’s just sweet that way.)

    A few minutes later, this responsible, maternal, sweet little 8 year old proceeds to ask Emma,

    “Do you want to go play downstairs with Sissy?”

    Off they go.

    I hear a weird noise followed by a thud, crying, silence, and more crying.

    The silence between crying is terrifying to me because I know that means it hurts so bad, they can’t make a sound.

    I dash  downstairs to find Reese trying to comfort Emma, who is so upset, there’s not noise coming out, in spite of tears, and a crying face. I scoop her up, she goes limp, her eyes roll around, I say, “GET MY PHONE!” 

    Reese is terrified, gets my phone and a bowl because the baby seemed to be about to vomit.

    Seconds later, all is well. Nobody puked, Emma came to, and I calmed Reese down. 

    You’ve seen one minor concussion, you’ve seen them all. 

    Apparently, jogging down the stairs, holding a big 2 year old seemed an appropriate thing to do to an 8 year old because,

    “She asked me to, Mom. She likes it!”

    One minute she’s changing baby’s diaper, the next minute she’s running down the stairs with her.

    How do you get mad at that?! 

    I sure can’t. 

    Lack of judgement comes with 8 year olds. 

    I love this little one……busy, super active, happy go lucky, flexible, up beat, precious little Reese Caroline.

     

    ~stacey

     

     

     

  • ~A Bunch of Nothing~

    I’m very thankful for a good school day. Really needed it this Monday.

    Confession: I personally have no use for science. Call me crazy but I don’t care a bit about nitrogen, cellular respiration, or even photosynthesis. As long as I have an ample supply of oxygen, I’m good. 

    However, my 5th grader has to learn all this crap, I mean information, so guess what?!!! I’m learning science!! bitter Thankfully, Jake memorizes easily.

     

    I got my first tiny hint of fall the other day. It was just a little breezy, about 80 something degrees out. I got really excited.

    We are back in full swing. 

    School. Gymnastics. Football. Ballet. Piano. Guitar. 

    As much as our three “at home school” days sometimes drive me to the brink of insanity, I don’t know what I’d do without them.

    Those hours at home are precious to me. Trust me. “Precious” is not the adjective I would use most days until well after we have finished the work. I have to decompress before I reflect on our mornings with even a hint of a smile. It’s the oddest thing…..you want to jab hot pokers in your eyeballs at 10:37 a.m. but by 3:44, you have this sense of accomplishment and satisfaction in your day. It’s weird. 

     

    I’ve been completely horrible about taking pictures recently and have nothing but snapshots but here are a few:

     ~Ginger Bread Brown~

     

     

     Not sure, but I think she’s flashing gang signs……..don’t ask. I have no idea.

     

     

     

     The Gambrell girls. Old friends. We have a history and I love that. 

     

      

    Abby and Cameron’s pre wedding party. Suppose I should include a picture of Cameron here but I’m out of time.

    Dinner is beeping at me from the oven.

     

     

    ~stacey

     

     

     

  • ~So Long~

     

    Don’t ya just love it when the calm before the storm is in reality the storm before the storm?!

    Part of me knows it’s my fault……could have worked more this weekend, could be a touch more organized.

    But another part of me says I need more hours in the day, and for heaven’s sake, I feel like I’m busy almost all the time.

    Either way, here I am at 10:35 p.m. 

    Just finishing the bulk of my prep work for the first day of school tomorrow.

    Three kids have:

    Text books with names on them, binders with labeled tab dividers per subject, medical forms filled out, very important decorative key chains attached to back packs, lunch food in the fridge, ready to be made in the morning, uniforms fluffing in the dryer, pencils sharpened, and my alarm clock set for 6:30 sharp. 

    I have all kind of goals for the school year to help make the days run smoother. Will let you know how those develop and hold out. silly

    One thing I’m for sure doing is on the two days a week that I’m literally in the car from at least 2:30 to heaven knows when, I’m packing a cooler with drinks, I’ll have a permanent bag in the car filled with snacks, napkins, wet wipes, and a separate bag with coloring stuff and bribe candy. I think it’s a good plan.

     

    So long summer. It was a good one…..though I must say I’m a little irritated with how quickly you came and went.

    Whatever happened to post Labor Day school start? 

     

    ~stacey