August 24, 2012

  • ~Reese~

    Lightening fast post…..have lots to do.

     

    This spunky little girl who, seems only like yesterday, looked like this:

     

        

     

     

    But now looks like this:

    is such a sweet helper.

    she can’t be still.

    she spends more time upside down than she does right side up.

    last week she kicked a softball size hole in the wall. I said, “let’s go swim”. She got excited and karate chopped the wall.

    in her life time, she’s been the kid who:

    chipped her tooth

    swallowed a penny

    had a minor concussion

    scales the door jams

    goes up the stairs on the outside of the bannister

    climbs trees

    and as I’ve already stated, kicks walls out of sheer joy.

     

    This morning, on her own, she got Emma up, and changed a poopy diaper AND put diaper rash cream on her. (and no, I never ask her to do this…..she’s just sweet that way.)

    A few minutes later, this responsible, maternal, sweet little 8 year old proceeds to ask Emma,

    “Do you want to go play downstairs with Sissy?”

    Off they go.

    I hear a weird noise followed by a thud, crying, silence, and more crying.

    The silence between crying is terrifying to me because I know that means it hurts so bad, they can’t make a sound.

    I dash  downstairs to find Reese trying to comfort Emma, who is so upset, there’s not noise coming out, in spite of tears, and a crying face. I scoop her up, she goes limp, her eyes roll around, I say, “GET MY PHONE!” 

    Reese is terrified, gets my phone and a bowl because the baby seemed to be about to vomit.

    Seconds later, all is well. Nobody puked, Emma came to, and I calmed Reese down. 

    You’ve seen one minor concussion, you’ve seen them all. 

    Apparently, jogging down the stairs, holding a big 2 year old seemed an appropriate thing to do to an 8 year old because,

    “She asked me to, Mom. She likes it!”

    One minute she’s changing baby’s diaper, the next minute she’s running down the stairs with her.

    How do you get mad at that?! 

    I sure can’t. 

    Lack of judgement comes with 8 year olds. 

    I love this little one……busy, super active, happy go lucky, flexible, up beat, precious little Reese Caroline.

     

    ~stacey

     

     

     

Comments (4)

  • First of all, if I haven’t said this before, your children are just beautiful.

    As a parent, I know what you mean when you say, “How can you get mad at that?!”. My daughter, although only 3 1/2, melts my heart in a way I never thought possible. Even when she makes poor decisions or, more common lately, is stubbornly opinionated, it takes everything within me not to smile at the sheer adorableness she exudes. She’s my only daughter (out of 5 children) and, along with her mother, keeper of my heart.

    You are blessed.

  • of course i have no way of really know, but i’m pretty sure i have a “reese” on my hands!!! Brighton is a non-stop action packed baby…rarely content to just “be.” lol
    your reese is beautiful!

  • always an exciting day with her around huh? :) Sounds like a sweetie though!

  • happy birthday to your reese! sounds like she’d get along great w/ a few of the girls around here. :)
    love that last shot. so pretty!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *