June 29, 2011

  • ~Old, Meet New~

     

     

     

     

    If you have a hard to find item you really really want to find, just casually mention it to my parents.

    Odds are, they’ll find it.

    They are garage sale gurus.

    I’ve been re-thinking the kids’ playroom. It’s over crowded with toys they don’t really play with. What they do love, however, is role play.

    ~School, dress up, house, etc.~

    I played office with Beth for years it seemed like. We scrounged up old checkbooks, adding machines, telephones, and receipt books and played office for hours at the time. We had boyfriends, fancy office names, and big plans for when we finally got off work. Loved it.

    So, I mentioned to Dad that I wanted to find an old typewriter for the kids to play with. A week or so later, I get a phone call.

    “Stacey, we’re at this garage sale and there’s a typewriter for $15. I don’t know if it works. Do you want it?”

    pleased

    Would you believe it works?!

     

    ~stacey

Comments (5)

  • They are going to have so much fun with that! You know those old typewriters are becoming very popular collectors items. Lovely shot by the way :)

  • My kids are the same way. They truly could care less about the toys! My couch is a crib for babies, my boys live in trees, and my living room turns into a “Gas Station”. My piano bench is always the register. Sometimes I will sit down and there will be a piece of paper with prices taped to the front of the bench.

    That typewriter is going to be so fun for them to play with!!!  I’m sure they Love it!
    My mother in law is like your parents…tell her what you need, within a few weeks she will find it!  Isn’t it nice to have someone like that??? =)

    Love the photo too.  Hope you had a great day.

  • neat photo! looks like *snort. i would know ;) * you are equipped with a new lens!

    your office job with beth sounds so fun. my best kid memories aren’t the ones with fancy shmancy toys that everyone else had…cough!cough!
    but playing with cars in the dirt under the ole’ maple…or cruise ship. that was a fav with becky. we’d adopt foreign accents, compile lists of passengers and plan activities. always with a problem family on board! ;)

    you have really been taking me down memory lane stacey!

    enjoy this new non-toy! they are The Best!

  • FABulous! And, like Cindy, I enjoyed playing in the dirt under the tree (orange); my sister and I played with her Matchbox cars. Then we’d go inside and set up boxes for our Barbie village. This playtime (I was 12) saved my sanity!

  • Ah, what a find! My kids would love that too!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *