December 17, 2011

  • ~Buee~

    Getting my hair cut and colored today. Brad’s rounding and seeing one patient in the office. Here’s hoping he gets home before 11. :-/

    Don’t know why I make these kinds of appointments when he’s on call. You would think after 11 years of this I would know better. 

    Do you think it would be cruel and invasive to go through the rooms of my 6, 7, and 10 year old (when they aren’t aroundshocked) and bag up all the little junk stuff that clutters it and makes it so hard to keep tidy? I wouldn’t pitch the junk stuff for about two weeks. That way, if they came to me moaning and groaning about that tiny little plastic prized possession, I could dig it out. Otherwise, if they don’t miss it and none of us have deemed it worthy to be dubbed a keepsake, then why keep it? Any thoughts? ‘Cuz I’m on the verge. Trash bags are calling my name. Intervention needed. 

     

    This baby of mine l.o.v.e.s “buee”. It’s bunny with no n. I’ve never had a child attached to something and have always assumed that Mothers have a role in forcing a thing on a baby, encouraging them to have a  ”raging need for it” because it’s endearing or something. 

    Not true.  Emma has blown that theory right out of the water. I bet I hear, “BUEE!” 8 or 10 times a day. 

    We get in the car, “BUEE!”

    We are going outside, “BUEE!”

    Putting on Peppa Pig, “BUEE!”

    Going to bed, “BUEE!”

    Poor Bunny is filthy. 

     

     

     

                          

     

     

     

     

     

                       

     

      oh! almost forgot….at Brad’s office party, they had a photo booth. talk about fun.

     


    ~stacey

Comments (6)

  • yeah, i hear ya about buee. I was always of the persuasion that those blanky/stuffed toy attachments were fostered by the mothers and i was NOT going to be THAT mom who is lugging around an armload of stuffed toys and grubby blankets. hehe. my daughter proved me otherwise too and it was def. of her own doing, and now I can be found carrying around a grubby blanket. ah well. she is content, what more can i ask for
    the photobooth does look fun

  • I just love that first picture of that sad little face. she is such a darling!
    Nope, I don’t think you’re cruel at all…I’d totally do that just to have simi-clean rooms and order. I don’t think kids realize how much work they make for themselves by having so much stuff. Since I was the last of 4 I had all the hand-me-down toys and i literally just had one big box of toys and that was it. I’m totally with the thought that less is more and it makes kids use their imagination more. :)

  • i LOVE that first picture of emma :) such an adorable sad little face!!!!

  • i’m not one to ask about filling trash bags. snicker. you know we have that bag thing in common at the grocery store…and ha. at home with s.t.u.f.f. my advice is go for it! happy bag filling! :) course i don’t get rid of REAL treasures. *lil disclaimer so that no one thinks i’m a meany* just the ones they forgot they had.

    and your lil baby who is not actually a baby is DARLING in that picture. i love her buee…and when other people’s kids blow theories up. mine sure did! :)

    way cute, that photo booth and pics! love.

  • Your theory isn’t totally incorrect. ;) I was the mom who fostered a blanket need. :) I LOVE having them attached to one thing b/c my theory (the one that hasn’t totally blown up YET) is that it helps them feel safe at a babysitters house when it’s time to go to sleep. My kids have never cried or even fussed about sleeping anywhere even if it’s completely dark and we’re absent. And I’d reeeeeally like that theory to stay intact. ;) Plus, I think a one year old and lovey is just the sweetest thing ever and the pictures of your baby are just making me go awwwwwww and awwwwwwww and awwwww!

    The toys? Fill the bags!!! Recently I took away the toy box and removed at least half the toys and stuck them in storage b/c I was sure the boys weren’t playing with them. I kept the remaining half in / on accessible baskets and shelves and I am amazed. They have not asked for one thing. They play more with what is there. They don’t just pull out a mess, but get a few toys and play with them. I LOVE IT. The rest might just go to Goodwill instead of staying in storage. And then we will not go to Goodwill for a *very* long time. :)

  • gahhh!! that first shot!! oh my word. she couldn’t be any cuter~

    and i’m probably the wrong one to take advice from when it comes to black trash bags and kids rooms.
    i’m such a thrower. i feel like if they haven’t used it in months. don’t even know it’s gone – it’s not needed!
    i just hate junk. there’s such a great feeling about purging and getting rid of things.

    see. i told you i was the wrong one to ask. ;)

    k. gonna scroll back up and look at baby girl’s face again. :) :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *