May 13, 2012

  • ~Turkey Legs AndOtherTidbits~

    There’s nothing like craving a ice cream, opening your freezer to get one, only to find a turkey sticking out of a garbage bag.

    Turkey feet are not pretty as it is but seeing them, claws and all, sticking out of a bag, knowing there’s a body attached to them is slightly disturbing. 

    IN your freezer. Like where your ice cream and frozen pizzas are. bitter

    Good thing I’m relatively laid back. 

     

    It was a hairy, stressful week. Had a sick little Wall, school to make up, field days, photo session with a feisty two year old, dance recitals, and I’m sure I’m forgetting a few things. The last two years, the week before Mother’s Day has been really challenging. I think I’ll dub it “Survival Week”. Because that’s exactly where I’ve been.

    Sleepless nights. Complete exhaustion. Frazzled emotions. Singing a LOT. (Now I understand why my Mom sang a lot.) ~hehe~

    It’s is a way to refuse to give in to the blah around you. Singing some faith filled song in the midst of turmoil is my own “Custer’s Last Stand”. ….somehow it works. 

    Just the same, I think next year, we’ll celebrate Mother’s Day a week early….see if that changes things. whatevah

     

    I’ve decided that if you want to be upset about something, you can be.

    If you’re looking for the bad, you’ll find it. 

    If you want to worry about something or someone, not a problem. There’s a list a mile long.

    Those are also perfect ways to completely WASTE your life. 

    Because at the same time:

    If you want to be grateful, there are countless blessings in your life.

    If you’re looking for the good, it’s everywhere.

    If you trust God for grace in whatever you’ll walk through, you can experience peace.

     

    FOUR MORE DAYS OF SCHOOL.     can I get a witness?!! laughing 

     

    how bad is it that for Mother’s Day, I wanted to spend an entire day in my room. ~alone.~  of course, I was mostly joking…..mostly. 

    NO, I didn’t spend an entire day holed up in my room. I figure those days will come soon enough. 

    A quiet house.

    No size 13 pink peace sign flip flops laying on the stairs.

    No coloring books on the den floor.

    No Lego people in the dining room.

    The upstairs bathroom will be spotless because no one will be using it. 

    No little voice calling to me from my bedroom,”More, Pig, Ma!” translation: “there are commercials on, please come fast forward Peppa Pig.” 

    I’m embracing the present crazy chaos and plan to enjoy the quiet when it comes. One season at a time.  

     

    a few shots from Auburn’s spring game….

      

     

     

     

     ~stacey

     

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (9)

  • Ha! I know the freezer feeling…there was a duck in mine last week! Beautiful children! Love your header pic.

  • LOVVVVVVVVVVVVE your banner picture…you have such adorable kids :)

  • Here’s to hoping you have a nice relaxing week ahead and hope you had a fabulous Mother’s day!
    The littlest Wall (my mind is blank at the moment on her name) is SO darling! Those blue eyes of her are so pretty!

  • I miss the chaos! I never thought I would, but I do. I even miss stepping on sharp Lego pieces and Barbie shoes. I loved the mommy days. Of course, looking back wearing those rosy glasses is SO much easier than actually LIVING through it! Of course, when I go visit the grandkids, I am more than ready to leave after a few weeks. I just need the REST! LOL! Love your thoughts and photos.

  • a turkey? claws and all?! ohmyword. :D good thing you ARE laid back. and me too. ha. with all that goes on here… i know that mother theresa would run away screaming. back to calcutta! she’d shout for sure. sometimes i even say that. outloud to my precious family. when really. i hear you. i do. i will miss stepping on legos and vacuuming up polly pocket’s endless accessories and just. gasp. what is that on the toilet seat? kinda days.

    you made me laugh with this post. the laugh of someone who is thinking i know i know. thanks for just saying it. we’ll make it. cheering for each other as we survive and thrive! love ya girl.

  • You had me at turkey Legs… I thought you were going to talk about greasy turkey legs on a perfect hot day at the fair… but I got a surprise! Actually I grew up to whole animals frozen in the freezer since my dad was a hunter and my five brothers were into it too… I just have one toddler who is pretty darn funny these days and today she told me she wanted to drive when we got to the car… I told her, no honey, not today, but someday you’re going to drive and mommy is going to sit in the back! And I thought, dang, that is really going to happen a lot quicker than I think!!!

  • Thankfully we have a deep freeze and all the weird meat can go out there. LOL I so felt you in this post because seems the last 3 weeks have been utter chaos. I love that you sing.. I do as well, blasting my music loudly and singing is somehow rallies me back.. and I totally laughed at your referral to it being your “Custer’s Last Stand” – I get it!

  • so.. you have to tell the rest of the story~ how did the turkey get there?? was it killed by brad, jake?? YOU?? ;)
    probably by now, school is done, and you’re in full on SUMMER mode. yay!!
    for us. it’s still another month. :/ silly canadians!! ;)
    so true about finding the good. something i’m working on more!
    it’s such a waste of energy and time to sit around stewing on the negative.

    great shots of the kids. i can’t believe how big the girls are looking! so pretty.

    and yes! next year i’ll celebrate mother’s day a week early with ya. ;) i hear ya with all that. so get it!
    hope your week is a good one. love ya~

  • Aaaww Ive been looking deeper into your blog and feel like I relate on so may levels…except I have nine kids. I’m really enjoying your posts

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *